jump to navigation

The Doors Light Up the Great White North Just in Time for the Holidays November 11, 2010

Posted by David W. King in Uncategorized.

Get ready for more than 2 hours of previously unreleased raunchy, stomping blues and psychedelia from The Doors. THE DOORS – LIVE IN VANCOUVER 1970 will be out just in time for the holidays.

The two-disc set, captured at the Pacific Coliseum in Vancouver, British Columbia, finds the band in high gear and matched groove for groove by Blues legend Albert King who adds his trademark guitar licks to “Little Red Rooster,” “Money,” “Rock Me,” and “Who Do You Love.

This two CD set contains unreleased music live from The Pacific Coliseum on June 6, 1970. The band rocks The Great White North with this unreleased concert featuring guest apperances by blues legend Albert King, lending his trademark stinging guitar licks to covers of Willie Dixon’s “Little Red Rooster,” the Motown classic “Money,” and the blues standards “Rock Me” and “Who Do You Love.”

They opened the show in high gear, barreling through 15 minutes of raunchy, stomping blues with “Roadhouse Blues,” “Alabama Song (Whisky Bar),” “Back Door Man,” and “Five To One.” Next the group briefly shifted gears, taking a hard left turn into psychedelic territory for a nearly 14-minute take on “When The Music’s Over.”

On the second disc, The Doors head for the homestretch with “Petition The Lord With Prayer,” a spoken word piece often featured live, but not officially released until a few weeks after the Vancouver show, when it appeared on Absolutely Live. Nearly 18-minute versions of “Light My Fire” and “The End,” two legendary tracks from the band’s groundbreaking 1967 self-titled debut, close out the show in epic fashion.

“What a funky night,” recalls Manzarek in the set’s liner notes. “Jim singing his ass off with the prod in the butt by a legendary old blues man (King).”

Vince Treanor, The Doors’ tour manager, recorded the show for the band on a Sony reel-to-reel using two microphones placed on the stage. While not a multitrack high fidelity recording, it is clean, quiet, and clear, allowing the unbridled energy of the performances to shine through.


Track Listing

Disc 1

1. Start Of Show

2. “Roadhouse Blues”

3. “Alabama Song (Whisky Bar)”

4. “Back Door Man”

5. “Five To One”

6. “When The Music’s Over”

7. Applause – Jim Talks

8. “Love Me Two Times”

9. Applause – Jim Talks

10. “Little Red Rooster” – with Albert King

11. Tuning

12. “Money” – with Albert King

13. Tuning

14. “Rock Me” – with Albert King

15. Tuning

16. “Who Do You Love”

Disc 2

1. Tuning

2. “Petition The Lord With Prayer”

3. “Light My Fire”

4. Tuning

5. “The End”

6. Thank You & Good Night


No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: