jump to navigation

Big Head Todd And The Monsters At Ardent Studios In Memphis October 28, 2010

Posted by David W. King in Uncategorized.

New Robert Johnson Concept Album Features Top Guest Artists

Pictured at Ardent Studios in Memphis are (L-R) Lightnin' Malcolm (guest), Rob Squires (bass), Todd Park Mohr (guitar/vocals), Jimmy Hoyson (engineer), Jason Gillespie (assistant), Ruthie Foster (guest), Chris Goldsmith (producer), Cedric Burnside (guest), Jeremy Lawton (keys/lap steel), and Brian Nevin (drums). Photo by Becky Fluke.

For their followup to the acclaimed “Rocksteady,” Big Head Todd and the Monsters ventured to Ardent Studios in Memphis with producer Chris Goldsmith and engineer Jimmy Hoyson. Goldsmith and Hoyson recorded last year’s Grammy-nominated Ruthie Foster record, “The Truth According to Ruthie Foster,” at Ardent in Studio A.

Big Head Todd and the Monsters drew from their recent concept tour with David “Honeyboy” Edwards, Hubert Sumlin, Cedric Burnside & Lightnin’ Malcolm playing the music of legendary bluesman Robert Johnson. Recording at Ardent, the band invited special guests Charlie Musselwhite and Ruthie Foster for a grand collaboration for blues and rock fans around the world. Ardent’s own Jason Gillespie was the assistant engineer on the session.

The new album’s producer, Chris Goldsmith commented about his experience at Ardent: “Jason Gillespie was amazing. He is extremely capable and has a fantastic attitude. He is on our all-star team for sure. I first came to Ardent with the Ruthie Foster project because we wanted to make a record that leaned on Memphis soul and Memphis musicians and I had heard that Ardent was the best in town. Not only was that true, but Ardent is one of the best studios I’ve ever worked in. The crew, the gear, and the sound of the tracking rooms are all World Class. We came back for this record because I love working at Ardent and the band wanted to be close to Robert Johnson’s stomping grounds for this recording.”

Formed in Colorado, 1986, Big Head Todd and the Monsters consists of Todd Park Mohr (guitars/vocals), Rob Squires (bass/vocals), Brian Nevin (drums/vocals) and Jeremy Lawton (keys/steel guitar/vocals).

For more information visit: http://www.ardentstudios.com


No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: